The Public Sector Counter Fraud Awards - Winners

Congratulations to the Winners!

The new Public Sector Counter Fraud Awards, in collaboration with our partners the Government Counter Fraud Profession, Cabinet Office are a perfect way to reward those who have demonstrated commitment to the task in hand and shown the spirit of innovation, great team work or going the extra mile to create better outcomes for the citizen in the national fight against fraud.

The quality of nominations this year was exceptional, and we’d like to thank everyone that nominated their departments, teams and colleagues. It’s been amazing to see all the inspirational work that has taken place across the sector over in what has been a very tough year for all.

Below is the list of winners and runners up from each category – congratulations to everyone listed!

In collaboration with:

Government Counter Fraud Profession logo

The 2021 Award Winners are:

Professional of the Year

For the individual who has done exceptional work and has demonstrated a strong sense of public service and commitment to their role in Counter Fraud.


Digital Forensic Analyst and Cybercrime Investigator, NATIS


Best Apprentice or Newcomer

For the individual who has achieved a significant impact in a short space of time, embodying the values of their organisation and the wider Counter Fraud profession of being courageous, challenging, objective and collaborative.



Investigation Officer, Counter Fraud and Investigation Team, Government Internal Audit Agency

Partnership Excellence Award

This award recognises the team or individual that has worked successfully in partnership with another department/organisation or multiple organisations. A great example of stakeholder engagement that could span the boundaries between sectors, departments or multiple teams.



Culture and Diversity Award

This award recognises the team or department that has put diversity and inclusion at the heart of their culture with exemplary results.


Professions, Development and Support lead within the Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC
Head of Counter Fraud Professionalisation – Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise, Cabinet Office

Team of the Year Award

Team Working is pivotal to the success in the fight against economic crime. Team of the year looks to highlight accomplishments made by an effective team within any organisation.


Proceeds of Crime Operations – Fraud Investigation Service & Risk Intelligence Service, HMRC


Outstanding Contribution Award

For outstanding contribution, we are looking for someone exceptional.  This peer-nominated award recognises an individual who has been influential and has significantly contributed to making a visible difference to Counter Fraud during their career to date.


Fraud Investigator, DWP


Leadership and Management Award

For the individual of any grade who has demonstrated they are an effective leader, managing projects and/or teams to deliver improved outcomes, and is seen as inspirational by their peers and colleagues.


Chief Investigation Officer, Insolvency Service Crime Investigation Team


Well done to all the Finalists:

Finalists: Professional of the Year

Sarah Cooper-James

Head of Investigation Services, London Audit (Part of Barts Health NHS Trust)

Tracey Noon

Assistant Director Organised Crime South, Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC

Esther Cox

Esther Cox, ECS Communication Lead and Support, Counter Fraud and Compliance Directorate (CFCD) DWP

Finalists: Best Apprentice or Newcomer

Alison Atkins

Senior Investigation Officer, Counter Fraud and Investigation Team, Government Internal Audit Agency

Karimah Mohammed

Research and Policy Officer for the Fraud, Error, Debt and Grants Team / Covid-19 Fraud Response at the Cabinet Office

Toni Shopova

Research and Policy Support Officer, Cabinet Office, Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise

Finalists: Partnership Excellence Award

Education & Skills Funding Agency Counter Fraud & Investigations Team, in collaboration with Cabinet Office and HMRC

Macmillan Cancer Support Counter Fraud Team and EdmondsMarshallMcMahon

NAFN Data and Intelligence Services, NATIS & BEIS

Finalists: Culture and Diversity Award

Counter Fraud & Investigation Service, Network Rail

Finalists: Team of the Year Award


Project Ironize / Op Venetic Project Team

Government Counter Fraud Function

COVID-19 Counter Fraud Response Intelligence

Finalists: Outstanding Contribution Award

Ben Harrison

Professions, Development and Support lead within the Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC

Gail Cousins

Senior Project Manager (Data Pilots and Analytics), Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise, Cabinet Office

Nick Moulton

Halton Borough Council

Finalists: Leadership and Management Award

Angie Geraghty

Head of Fraud Investigation, Disclosure and Barring Service

Neil Green

Deputy Director, Counter Fraud and Investigation, Government Internal Audit Agency

Thank you to Lyn McDonald, our Awards evening host